Energy Capital & Power

Angola to Join Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative

Connect with us:

Image: UN Geneva- Flickr
Angola is planning to join the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) to promote the transparent and accountable management of its natural resources.

Formed in 2003 and implemented in 52 countries, the EITI serves as a global standard for responsible governance of oil, gas and mineral resources, seeking to strengthen key public and corporate governance issues of transparency and accountability by requiring the disclosure of information along the extractive industry value chain.

“[Angola] has clearly demonstrated its commitment to promote the open and accountable management of its natural resources for the benefit of its people,” said H.E. Tete Antonio, Angola’s Minister of Foreign Affairs.

To date, African EITI member countries include Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Togo, and Zambia.

Share This Article